Sunday 29 January 2017, 7.30pm

Sacred Paws + Rattle + Serafina Steer

No Longer Available

Sacred Paws return to OTO in a joyous line-up alongside double-drumming duo, Rattle.

“Undisputed band of the night are Sacred Paws, comprising Eilidh of Golden Grrls and Skeleton Bob on drums, and Rachel from Electrelane affiliates Trash Kit on guitar. Raw Soweto high-life riffs and rolling Afrobeat grooves are filtered through post-punk sass and ramshackle K Records charm. It’s an utterly joyous sound, the duo trading giddy melodies and righteous chants over febrile rhythms and chunky, infectious guitar. Judging by the dancing feet and smiling faces, Glasgow has a new favourite band.” – The List


Rattle are a drumming duo based in Nottingham and comprised of Theresa J Wrigley (Highs) and Katharine Eira Brown (Lows). Both musicians also play drums for two other well respected bands, with Theresa in Fists and Katy in Kogumaza. Rattle play minimalist rhythms that remain both hypnotic and danceable heavily thanks to the delicate vocal melodies which accompany their beats. Their sound recalls This Heat or ESG whilst remaining uniquely their own.

Sacred Paws

“Relative veterans of the UK’s ever-fertile DIY scene, Rachel Aggs and Eilidh Rodgers originally formed Sacred Paws while playing together in Glasgow-based lo-fi types Golden Grrrls, whose sole, self-titled album was jointly released by Slumberland and Night School in 2013.

Several mixtapes and many Megabus journeys later (they continue to be divided between Glasgow and London), Sacred Paws settled on a sound midway between afrobeat and US post-punk à la Pylon and The B-52’s. Soon after, they began to play shows together, which eventually escalated into a gigging schedule which would put many bands to shame.” - The Skinny

Serafina Steer

Serafina Steer (UK) is a songwriter and instrumentalist. She currently writes and performs (bass guitar) for Bas Jan: a three piece band started in 2015. The first single from their forthcoming self- titled EP is called 'No Sign' and will be released on February 6th 2017.

The most recent (2013) of her three solo harp-based albums is called 'The Moths Are Real', produced by Jarvis Cocker and was Rough Trade's album of the month.