Wednesday 25 October 2017, 6.30pm, OTO Project Space

OTO PROJECT SPACE: Skin and Cones – Yoni Silver / Ram Gabay (duo) + Crystabel Riley / Edward Lucas (duo)

No Longer Available

Ram Gabay (drums) and Yoni Silver (bass clarinet, violin) both hail from the small and vibrant Israeli experimental music scene. They have performed with and within Primate Arena (Alex Drool, Eran Sachs), Mines (Ilan Volkov, Yael Barolsky, Ram Gabay), Maya Dunietz, Iancu Dumitrescu and Ana-Maria Avram, Ghédalia Tazartes Steve Noble, Dylan Nyoukis, Usurper (Ali Robertson, Malcy Duff), and many others.

This will be the first performance in a UK tour and their first performance as duo since Silver’s move to London in 2013.

Yoni Silver

Bass-clarinetist and multi-instrumentalist Yoni Silver’s activities include hyper-spectral adventures with Iancu Dumitrescu's Hyperion Ensemble; a bass clarinet and percussion duo with Steve Noble; a bass clarinet/violin and possessed vocals duo with Sharon Gal; Denis D’or with Grundik Kasyansky and Tom Wheatley; bass clarinet and drums duo with Crystabel Riley, and solo performances on amplified bass clarinet.
He has appeared on labels such as Creative Sources, Confront Recordings, Wasted Capital, Chocolate Monk and Edition Modern.

Edward Lucas

Lucas is co-organiser (with Daniel Kordik) of the Earshots label - their long running trombone and synth duo led to the beginning of the concert series and label. He has had many associations with improvising musicians in London and beyond, including the duo here with Daniel Thompson - a CD from this duo is expected for release on Inexhaustible Editions later this Summer.

Edward Lucas

Crystabel Riley

During late naughties Crystabel Riley toured Japan and Europe playing drums and electronics with industrial noise trio Maria and the Mirrors. She is also a pivotal member of ongoing improvisation project Debbie Leggo; collaboration with Scottish poet Gerry Mitchel and musicians such as Tom Jackson. She has played drums for Michael Rother and has performed with Daniel Thomson, Sue Lynch, Saadet Turkoz and John Edwards.