We need your help – please

Alash – 10.05.15

Fatten up the reindeer, it's our Christmas release!

Master throat singers from Tuva, a tiny republic in the heart of Central Asia, Alash expand on the vocal tradition of nomadic herdsmen to include their love for Jim Hendrix and Sun Ra. A sold out show in May 2015 blended sing-a-longs with sincerity and heritage with humour. 


1. Kozhamyktar - We Are The Songbirds of Summer Camp
2. Karachal 
3. Buura
4. Ayan-ool Sam solo on Jawharp (Xomus)
5. Mezhegei
6. Don’t Let Me Freeze
7. Dynggyldai
8. Odarladyp Semirtiili - Let’s Fatten the Livestock
9. My Throat, The Cuckoo 
10. Let Me Sing it from my Soul
11. The Black Bird (Composed by Alash)
12. Ayan Shirizhik Sygyt Solo
13. For My Son
14. Kosh-oi and Torgalyg
15. Bady-Dorzhu Ondar Kargyraa Solo
16. The Reindeer Herders’ Song
17. Relax Jam (Composed by Alash)
18. I’m a Joker
19. Aa-Shuu-Dekei-Oo (Encore)


Recorded at Cafe Oto on the 10th May 2015 by James Dunn. Mixed by John Chantler. Mastered by Rupert Clervaux.  

Available as 320k MP3 or 24bit FLAC.


The three musicians who make up Alash – Bady-Dorzhu Ondar, Ayan-ool Sam and Ayan Shirizhik – have won numerous international awards in Tuvan throat singing, a technique which allows vocalists to sing multiple pitches at one time. Ensemble members also play a variety of Tuvan traditional instruments, contributing to an overall musical experience that a Washington Post review described as “absolutely stunning.”

Alash has also collaborated with such diverse musical groups as Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, beat boxer Shodekeh and American classical musicians. With their "new old" Tuvan music, Alash stays true to the cultural traditions of their musical heritage, while blending new influences, to create a captivating and utterly unique musical experience.