We need your help – please

Marilyn Crispell / Eddie Prévost – Band on the Wall

Recorded at a concert given at The Band on the Wall Manchester, England on 26th May 1994. 


Marilyn Crispell / piano

Eddie Prévost / drums



1. Opening Time - 6:49
2. Slow Chaser - 3:59
3. Fragments - 2:48
4. Dogbolter - 2:05
5. Apart (I) - 2:33
6. As Our Tongues Lap Up The Burning Air - 6:29
7. Old Thumper - 1:08
8. Night Moves - 12:11
9. Bishop's Finger - 1:11
10. Irons - 3:47
11. Quiet Now - 3:37
12. Spitfire - 3:42
13. Last Orders - 8:20

Available as a 320k MP3 or 16bit FLAC download.  

Eddie Prévost

Eddie Prévost began his life in music as a jazz drummer. A recurring interest in this form has been maintained, although always with an experimental ethos. Along the way he has maintained his fifty-year plus experimental credentials with AMM and numerous other improvisation projects, including his now twenty-year long weekly workshop. But drumming has generally been backgrounded to his experimental percussion work. More though, is to be expected of his drumming in 2020 on forthcoming multi-CD album: The Unexpected Alchemy. A part of this Krakow festival recording features the drums and saxophone trio of Ken Vandermark, Hamid Drake, and Eddie Prévost. His most recent released recordings include AMM’s: An Unintended Legacy, and a duo with John Butcher - Visionary Fantasies, both on Matchless Recordings. Also, a solo percussion LP on the Earshots label called Matching Mix. Later, in 2020 he meets with Jason Yarde and Nathan Moore, while in March concerts and recording will hear him drumming with US guitarist Henry Kaiser and saxophonist Binker Golding.

And, early 2020 should see the publication of his fourth book: An Uncommon Music for the Common Man: a polemical memoir.

“Prévost's free drumming flows superbly making use of his formidable technique. It’s as though there has never been an Elvin Jones or Max Roach.” - Melody Maker

“Relentlessly innovative yet full of swing and fire.” – Morning Star