We need your help – please

Laurie Tompkins – Heat, War, Sweat, Law

Slip Logo

Heat, War, Sweat, Law is British composer Laurie Tompkins’ debut solo recording: a desperate stomp on the bones of Heaven 17’s ‘The Height Of The Fighting’, replete with rabid voices, cracked pots, faltering pipes, spent IKEA bags and egg shakers, and spasmodic ghosts of Martyn Ware synths. Part foaming rant, part exercise routine, HWSL’s incessant shaking, hammering and yelling wear down soloist, tools, and the tolerance of an audience put upon by a dispersed mob seeking to recruit them in their inane howls and claps.

“…Glenn Gregory’s suave croons are a world away from these giddy bagatelles, evoking as they do a hurricane in a Sheffield charity shop…” – Paul Margree, We Need No Swords
“…he cries meaningless bloody murder in nine tracks that resemble surreal playground games as much as they do compositions…” – Tristan Bath, The Quietus
“…the receding hairline of an overwhelmed sound guy paying off the interest on his mic set case while pulling out hair…” – Tiny Mix Tapes


Mixed and mastered by Owen Roberts. Video for “Sweat” by Joel Wycherley. 

Available as 320k MP3 or 24bit FLAC  


1. Sweat 02:54
2. Law 01:44
3. Heat 03:16
4. Cigarette 02:04
5. War 03:46
6. Radiator 01:37
7. Mini Wheat 02:09
8. Implore 00:46
9. Regret 02:29

Laurie Tompkins

Laurie is a composer, and co-founder/co-director of the Slip label.
His music works through pop cultural trauma, taking pleasure in ritual self-abasement. His projects are impure coagulations of instruction and improvisation; text, sound, image; lone wolf and mob; human and computer technologies. He primarily works with a tight group of long-standing collaborators.
Laurie has performed at London’s Café Oto, Bristol’s Spike Island, Aldeburgh Music, Aarhus’ Radar, Berlin’s Reflektor, and Harplinge’s Harp Art Lab.
His commissions have premiered with the House Of Bedlam, LSO Soundhub Scheme, ddmmyy and 840 series. He has been broadcast on Resonance FM and BBC Radio 3.
Forthcoming projects include mini-album Ample Profanity - the debut release of Laurie & Olly, a collaboration with cellist Oliver Coates; a debut US performance with Suze Whaites at National Sawdust, Brooklyn; and collaborations with visual artist Joel Wycherley, bassist Otto Willberg, and composer/producer Chaines.