We need your help – please

Rattle – 29.1.17

Rattle are Katharine Eira Brown and Theresa Wrigley, both on drums and both on vocals. They played their first set at OTO as part of The Ex’s 2016 residency, and returned in 2017 to deliver their gleefully deconstructed and hypnotic songs in support of Sacred Paws. Stripped of ego, spacious and infectious, Rattle make structured minimalism unnerving, awkward, but mainly fun.

"Rattle, however, aren't about racket or ego. When Katharine Elra Brown and Theresa Wrigley sit on their separate thrones, they turn their beats into building blocks. With just two kits and their beguiling voices, the duo have created a jigsaw of a debut – and not one of those frustrating puzzles with 1000 tiny pieces, but a fast-paced game full of constant discovery and reward." - Lee Adcock
Katharine Eira Brown / drums, vocals
Theresa Wrigley / drums, vocals
Recorded by Shaun Crook on Sunday 29th January 2017. Mixed and mastered by James Dunn. Photo by Dawid Laskowski. Artwork by Oli Barrett. All songs are from Rattle's first album 'Rattle' released in August 2016 on I Own You / Upset The Rhythm Records.

Available as 320k MP3 or 24bit FLAC

1. Dulling - 5:32
2. Stringer Bell - 4:53
3. True Picture - 3:27
4. Thunder - 2:56
5. Click - 4:19



RATTLE are a Nottingham based duo, Rattle focus almost exclusively on drums and more drums, beneath a delicate overlay of vocal harmonies and percussive effects. Formed by Katharine Eira Brown (also of Kogumaza) and Theresa Wrigley (also of Fists), Rattle began as an experiment in crafting rich songs and melody using drums and voice alone. Their music weaves and intertwines post-punk, minimalism and experimental rock, through off-kilter rhythms, patterns and counter melodies. Often starting by picking out the ghost notes from the drums to develop a melody, the song then reveals itself in rounds and harmonies with layer upon layer of rhythm and vocal, lending a choral feel to some of the tracks. Rattle effortlessly blend the avant-garde with irresistible melodies and hypnotic drum beats, using rhythm and harmony to create a refreshing sound that is utterly new - a pretty rare feat these days when we're saturated with so much music. Rattle's impressive ‘Sequence’ album came out last November through Upset The Rhythm.